IMMUNE TO ADVERTISING?

Recently I saw on Facebook that I had “Liked” something I had no connection with.  None whatsoever.  Now, whether or not the product or person is something I would “Like,” if asked,  really isn’t the point here.  The point is — I had never  seen the ad I would have had to see in order to make the choice attributed to me, and the only way I could correct the rogue “Like” was to post a disclaimer as a follow up.

Amazingly, others then responded that they, too, had been victims of the broadcasting of “Likes” when no such click had happened.  Hmmm.  Were all of us either unwary or unaware “clickers” in the wrong place?  Hardly seems credible.

I know, I know, the Internet does peculiar things, OR we (me) inadvertently cause it to do peculiar things.  But my illegitimately posted  “Like” of the subject of a paid ad caused me to begin thinking about things only partly related to Internet aberations.

What about ads in general?  I’d guess I’m different than most because I rarely pay any attention to them in any print medium.  Broadcast media?  Nope. We listen only to public radio, watch only public TV.  Not that we are against commercial channels or (some of) their content.  Our television reception here in the Ozarks forest only brings in Arkansas Public Television, and we are very happy with their programming. We have never been tempted to go to satellite, partly because there is no way to justify such an expense when we’d rarely use it, and also because satellite dishes are notably unreliable in a heavily forested area.  (We’ve learned this from neighbors who invested in them.)

Therefore — unlike most Americans and others around the world — Radine is rarely influenced by advertising.  I am the bane of the huge advertising/lobbying-for-products industry.  I am outside their circle of influence.  And, influence it is. Recently a very intelligent woman admitted that she is subject to strong influence whenever she sees a Febreeze ad. Every time a new flavor is advertised, she buys  it, and she already has a cabinet full of Febreeze.  (I don’t know if I am spelling that product name correctly.)  I didn’t know what Febreeze was, but checked in the grocery and, as I am sure everyone except my husband and I  knew,  it’s a type of room freshener.  Oh dear, I am hopelessly “out of it.”  Do I care?  In this instance, no.)

I admit I am not immune to some types of advertising.  As most readers of this blog probably know, I am a full-time writer and have been for a number of years. Eight published books, numerous published feature articles, essays, and short stories prove my bonafides and some degree of success in this profession. And–these days–in order to succeed, we writers are told over and over that we must promote.  In fact, that means WE MUST ADVERTISE OURSELVES AND OUR WRITING.  A major way to do this is on the Internet.

So, on the Internet, we make friends, learn about their work on lists, blogs, and otherwise, and share our own professional news in the same way.  In other words, we advertise.  So here I am, advertising (??) via a blog.  I prefer to think of it as writing an opinion essay to share with unseen friends.  And, normally, Internet “ads” by authors are much less offensive than shouting ads for products on television, and they are much more interesting to me.  Many of them are informative and useful.  Ah well, when it comes to ads, it seems I, too, pay attention to some of them.

Unfortunately, there are a few authors who post and post and post their “ads” (news of this or that to do with their latest publication) so frequently that they become only noise.  I am currently getting posts from one author seven or more times a day.   I now delete all of them, unopened.   Wish I had the courage to tell her I used to read her posts.  When the number expanded to what I considered an annoying level, she lost me.

But then, you know how I feel about advertising . . . .

http://www.RadinesBooks.com

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “IMMUNE TO ADVERTISING?”

  1. Rasana Atreya Says:

    I couldn’t have said this better, Radine. There are a couple authors who constantly keep posting reviews of their book across multiple Facebook groups. I wish I could tell them how annoying it is.

    Best, Rasana

  2. Donna Fletcher Crow Says:

    Yup, Radine. Afraid I’m one of the immune ones, too–i just don’t have time to take anything more in. My favorite game, though, is to get the phone back on its cradle before a telemarketer can get a sentence out.

  3. Radine Trees Nehring Says:

    Oh, YES! Though we are on the “do not call” program, they can’t stop all I guess. Some begin “If you are a Senior Citizen . . . ” but I don’t know what comes next because I hang up. (Naturally they call during the best part of something on TV.) Calls about getting better credit card interest rates have largely stopped, at least for the present. I saved numbers of all who called and reported them to “Do Not Call,” but I don’t dare hope they will never return. Thanks so much for mentioning these intrusions into our homes.

  4. Sunny Frazier Says:

    Actually, there’s a lot we can learn from Madison Avenue. I watch Mad Men and it’s opened my eyes. I now look at commercials on TV and think “What approach are they using, how can I utilize this idea?” It’s helped me think outside the box (or book cover) of my own promotion. And, as you know Radine, I’m the queen of marketing!

  5. radine Says:

    I don’t disagree, Sunny, and, in the business world, I used to buy ads, but, since we don’t get commercial TV here, and don’t listen to commercial radio, I don’t have access to ads in any but print media. Yes, I am sure I might learn something from Madison Avenue, but ideas that fit me usually filter into Spring Hollow! (Partly because of your sharing!) Thanks for the comment

Leave a Reply

