Discovering our creative force

This is about being a creative discoverer. I believe most all of us, whatever our interests or profession, would acknowledge that, at times, we can be just that. (“Pumpkin Garlic Cake?” A bookshelf that clamps books at the top of the shelf rather than resting them on the bottom?)

Every single one of us has, in individual ways, access to pieces of the creativity we need for art, and for living. Of course we must be open to gaining that access. It takes quiet moments. It takes listening and paying attention and, in today’s noisy, connected world, this kind of listening doesn’t come easily. (Probably was easier for Thoreau than it is for us today.)

Seems to me living itself is an act of discovery, so we might as well call it creative discovery.  Therefore, our “ah-ha” moments are actually discovering bits of creation, however you define that word, that were always there, but we just got around to opening up some of those that fit us and our need at the moment.

As a writer, I can certainly identify with what Garrison Keilor says, “Writing is an act of discovery.”  David Hare amplified that by saying: “The act of writing is the act of discovering what you believe.”

That’s really interesting–or it is to me, anyway.  By writing, I uncover dormant ideas, even discover what I really think.  And, since I’ve written both fiction and non-fiction, I will attest that this is true for all creative writing.  Fact or fiction, essays, poetry, mystery writing–all contain words of discovery.

You can’t develop an idea if you haven’t thought it (or discovered it) first, and that usually takes a degree of quiet inside. Some say their best ideas come in the shower, or while wakeful during the night. Certainly those are quiet times, or at least times when our attention isn’t captivated by something external.  Rather than being a mindless activity like rubbing on soap, or a frustrating time like failing at counting sheep, why not engage thought in something more productive?

You can call it what you want. Meditation? Prayer?  For me, it’s prayer, and my prayer is putting myself in the hands of what I acknowledge to be the true creative force.

Whatever your core beliefs, isn’t it great to be able to tune into a creative force?  What do you think?

http://www.RadinesBooks.com

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Discovering our creative force”

  1. Kevin Says:

    Being creative has been impossible for me lately as the noise of life intrudes into the quiet.

  2. radine Says:

    I dunno, Kevin. I’ve seen some pretty creative comments you posted recently on DL. And, living the life you’re experiencing right now means you have to be creative to survive! Right? At least I see it that way.

  3. Brenda Says:

    I enjoy your thoughts on creativity, Radine.

    I also agree, Radine, that Kevin has been very creative in the midst of his difficulties and an inspiring example.

  4. Kevin Says:

    It is one thing to toss off something on DL…..quite another to write a story/novel.

    Inspiring? I appreciate the thought but truly don’t think I am.

  5. Radine Trees Nehring Says:

    Not to downplay what Kevin means by being creative, but, not only does he write well, there are gazillion other types of creativity. Finding creative ways to survive under huge burdens of all kinds is one way. Kevin and his family are doing that. And, of course, creating pumpkin-garlic cake can be another. (Getting people to taste it would be tremendously creative.)

Leave a Reply

